My post today is really simple. Here are ten things I love about the Lord Jesus:

  1. Jesus holds everything in existence. Therefore he holds me in existence.
    • “and he upholds the universe by the word of his power” (Hebrew 1:3)
  2. Jesus is the promised one who fulfills the Old Testament’s promises. He is the “Christ.”
    • “The Lord God said to the serpent, ‘Because you have done this… her offspring; he shall bruise your head, and you shall bruise his heel.’” (Genesis 3:14-15)
    • “For to us a child is born, to us a son is given; and the government shall be upon his shoulder, and his name shall be called Wonderful Counselor, Mighty God, Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace.” (Isaiah 9:6)
  3. Jesus is holy. His purity and spotlessness make him beautiful beyond anything in creation.
    • “And the angel answered her, ‘The Holy Spirit will come upon you, and the power of the Most High will overshadow you; therefore the child to be born will be called holy—the Son of God’” (Luke 1:35)
  4. Jesus is patient with my sin.
    • “The Lord is… patient toward you, not wishing that any should perish, but that all should reach repentance.” (2 Peter 3:9)
  5. Jesus is the Lamb of God who takes away my sin.
    • “The next day he saw Jesus coming toward him, and said, “Behold, the Lamb of God, who takes away the sin of the world!” (John 1:29)
  6. Jesus is meek and humble in his Lordship.
    • “Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.” (Matthew 11:28-30)
  7. Jesus is my life. He has brought me out of spiritual death to life.
    • “Jesus said to him, ‘I am the way, and the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.’”(John 14:6)
  8. Jesus is alive. Therefore I can trust him as the One with power over my life and death.
    • “Fear not, I am the first and the last, and the living one. I died, and behold I am alive forevermore, and I have the keys of Death and Hades.” (Revelation 1:17-18)
  9. Jesus is ever present with his people. He knows our trials and keeps us under his care.
    • “And behold, I am with you always, to the end of the age.” (Matthew 28:20)
  10. Jesus is coming again. He has not left this world to forever endure the effects of sin.
    • “Behold, I am coming soon, bringing my recompense with me, to repay everyone for what he has done. I am the Alpha and the Omega, the first and the last, the beginning and the end.”
    • (Revelation 22:12-13) “He who testifies to these things says, ‘Surely I am coming soon.’” (Revelation 22:20)

They are many, many more things to love about Jesus than just these ten. What things do you love about him?

